Average Ratings (from 22 ratings)
Overall star Rating
Would you recommend to other mums?
What did your child think?
Value of Product
Quality of Product
Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

The Amazon Kindle is the ultimate Christmas gift this year.

Weighing in at less than 170grams, it can hold up to 1400 books which makes it the perfect travel companion. It’s great for mums and dads alike, plus it’s simple to use and has adjustable text sizes so you can read comfortably.

Dont forget to pimp out your Kindle with a case from our Kindle accessory range!

The Amazon Kindle is available at Dick Smith Stores and online 24/7 at dicksmith.com.au

Recommended Retail Price $119.00.  Also available in Black.  3G model also available.

Check out more details on the Amazon Kindle here.

Check out the Amazon Kindle Product Reviews from Mouths of Mums members below.


At Dick Smith we’re taking the hassle out of your Christmas shopping. With great deals on the latest technology and more ways to shop, we make it easy!

We’ve got an extended range of technology so you’re bound to find the perfect gift for eveyone in your family. Get the kids sorted with something from our kids technology range or take care of mum and dad with the ultimate Christmas gift of the year – the Amazon Kindle. Check out our website for our extended range in home entertainment, Apple, digital cameras and more.

Can’t get to the shops?

Not to worry, shop online 24/7 at dicksmith.com.au where you can check out our full range, read reviews and shop.  Place your order by the 18th December and get delivery in time for Christmas (large items need to be ordered by 12th December).

Are you a last-minute shopper?

Use our Click and Collect function to reserve stock at your local store. It’s even available on your mobile, so you can reserve on the go.

For a great Christmas deal made easy, shop at Dick Smith.

  1. 28th March 2014 at 10:51 am,

    MoM Rewards: Gary Lynch has a sapphire MoM rewards level Gary Lynch said:

    Share this review on facebook

    The libary

    Wow mum’s and Dad’s how cool is that either for your kids of for your self , no need to go to the library , you have got it all in one , a wicked and great gift for anyone, dam I wish I had one

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  2. teacup83

    26th March 2014 at 12:53 am,

    MoM Rewards: teacup83 has a diamond MoM rewards level teacup83 said:

    Share this review on facebook

    interesting device

    The kindle is a lot different to what I was expecting it to be. It is very tiny and light weight, wouldn’t even notice it in your bag. The screen is so clear that it almost looks like an actual page of a book.

    Was easy to buy from Dick Smith, but would have been a lot cheaper to buy from Amazon.

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  3. liz007

    21st October 2013 at 3:00 pm,

    MoM Rewards: liz007 has a diamond MoM rewards level liz007 said:

    Share this review on facebook

    I love my kindle

    My kindle goes every where with me it’s easy to charge. The charge last a long time. . It’s light weight . I can store thousands of books .. My favourite being cook books .. Books are at a fraction of the cost … You can change your print size. . So a fine print you can make into a large print . Yes I love my kindle as I do not drive I always use public transport so I always have a book with me.

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  4. liz007

    22nd September 2013 at 10:00 pm,

    MoM Rewards: liz007 has a diamond MoM rewards level liz007 said:

    Share this review on facebook

    Kindle brilliant fantastic

    I love. My kindle its saved me hundreds of dollars I did not get to review a free one I had my as a Christmas present last year . My husband brought it from dick smiths.. It was suggested by a staff member when hubby did not know what to buy.. I would of liked a purple one but it only came in black or white… The money you save on books is so good as I love to read I light .. It’s so easy to charge . It fits in my hand bag.. It’s easy to se I have even cook books on it.. I love my kindle and now I can have thousands of books and it makes it so easy now if I want to re read a book . No more going to the garage and sorting through boxes… If there is one thing or good readers should own is a kindle.. I know some people still like a good old fashion book so do I. But the kindle is great..

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  5. mouse

    28th May 2013 at 7:40 am,

    MoM Rewards: mouse has a diamond MoM rewards level mouse said:

    Share this review on facebook

    Not a big fan of the kindle

    I am not a big fan of the kindle and find i have alot of trouble finding my way around it. I use apple products and do believe them easier and cheaper with their apps. My kids love playing with the Kindle but always switch to the apple as well. I guess it is what your used to and what you dont mind paying for

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  6. jennbo

    26th April 2013 at 2:07 pm,

    MoM Rewards: jennbo has a diamond MoM rewards level jennbo said:

    Share this review on facebook

    The Kindle is loved by young and old.

    I actually bought a kindle for my Mum for Christmas. Dick Smith had the best price and range of accessories to match. Mum has downloaded some great reads and has included children classics for the Grandies to read. Would definitely recommend paying a bit more and getting the 3G Wi-Fi model so that you can downloadbooks anywhere.

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  7. jenniferjean

    16th April 2013 at 10:43 pm,

    MoM Rewards: Jennifer Pearce has a topaz MoM rewards level Jennifer Pearce said:

    Share this review on facebook

    It's fantastic and I love it

    The kindle is a great product I love it I’m a massive reader so is my husband we have a very large book collection. Reading on the kindle is so much easer it’s light and easy to you you can take it anywhere, my son that is 8 has just started to use it and he wants one of his own.

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  8. 3rd December 2012 at 7:02 pm,

    MoM Rewards: mrsstoney has a topaz MoM rewards level mrsstoney said:

    Share this review on facebook

    Santa finally came to me... :-)

    Having used the kindle for the last 2 weeks, i am loving it. It has so many positives that it is unbelievable. Being an avid book reader and now living in a semi remote area this has been an absolute blessing of a a review for me to do. I always get things for Hubby and Son and always forget about myself… as most mums do, so i was glad to be able to review this as it was selfishly all for me.

    I read every spare chance i get, which is really not that much these days with a very active 2 year old and with my darling husband working away… but i grab every opportunity I can for a “little bit of me” time.

    I love to look up words that I don’t totally understand but with a paper book i have to put the book down, which generally makes me loose my spot as master 2 grabs the book, then i have to get the dictionary and answer all the what you doing mummy questions… which of course i do explain… but with the kindle you can highlight the word you want to know more about and it gives you the definition… fantastic.

    Although its not exactly Christmas at least i know i got a present this year and what a present it is. With hubby working away right up until chrissy im sure he wont get to the shops, which is fine and i totally understand… so thank MOM and Dick Smiths for my early present… definately no regifting this one.

    I can now read those heavy heavy books that i love so much in bed in comfort without having to reposition myself a million times as you get the sore arms going..

    Its lightweght, fits into my handbag, i can take it anywhere, the battery life is brilliant.. i have only charged it once in the two weeks and have been reading for about 15 hours on and off in total over the last couple of weeks.

    What was i thinking not getting one of these for myself sooner.

    All i have to do now is find out if we can get the Australian newspapers on it, then both Hubby and I are set.

    Living where we live it is not just a quick duck into the shops to get that book or get the paper… now all i have to do is set my phone to wifi hotspot (amazing it works) and download a new book. I can even add them to my wish list so i have a reading list ready to go next time im up for a new read. There are also a number of free books out there to try and a lot of other books that you can not get in the shops.

    I highly recommend this product to any avid reader.

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  9. 3rd December 2012 at 4:48 pm,

    MoM Rewards: courage has a ruby MoM rewards level courage said:

    Share this review on facebook

    THE KINDLE IS SO CONVENIENT - WHO KNEW?

    I’m loving the Kindle. I haven’t used one before this, and am delighted with it. My hubby and I can both put books on it and share it when we are travelling, this will save packing 2 or 3 books each time we go on holidays. As we are book lovers we will still take a book each and share the Kindle. He reads early in the day and I’m a night owl, so it works for us. Easy to use, light and manageable, definitely get Santa to bring you one. You will be happy!

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  10. rachypooh

    27th November 2012 at 5:10 pm,

    MoM Rewards: rachypooh has a topaz MoM rewards level rachypooh said:

    Share this review on facebook

    Anywhere anytime making reading accessable to everyone

    i am not a huge book fan but love the kindle and the fact it is easy to use. My husband has claimed it for himself and he is now reading more than he ever did. we have been reading to our daughter and she is loving the types of books available. It is light and compact and can be taken anywhere.

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  11. BKent70

    26th November 2012 at 10:41 pm,

    MoM Rewards: Bree has a topaz MoM rewards level Bree said:

    Share this review on facebook

    Need one for each member of the family!

    I was very excited to receive the Kindle and wasn’t disappointed when it arrived.

    I really enjoyed having a play with it and found the set up and the navigation was very easy and user friendly. The Kindle was very compact, fitted nicely into one hand and I loved that I could turn the pages on either side of the device. I have read more since having the Kindle than I have in the past few months. It was a really nice change from reading books on my iphone & ipod, it felt much more like reading an actual book.

    Once my seven year old got hold of the Kindle I pretty much didn’t see it again. She loved it so much she read 5 books in two days and carried it everywhere with her. I am thinking of buying her one for Christmas as it means she only has to pack the Kindle not the usual dozen books she carts away with us! I also love that there are so many free or cheap books which you can receive instantly as I can actually keep up with how quickly she devours books.

    My 2 younger children also enjoyed reading stories on the Kindle, even though the books aren’t in colour, they insisted on having story after story read to them.

    All 3 of the kids had figured out how to use it within minutes of having it in their hands.

    I do recommend buying a case/screen protector etc as one of the first things my kids did was cart it around and inevitably they dropped it, the Kindle was fine but not sure how much rough play it will take.

    As the kids are asleep I am going to sneak off to bed and do some reading while I have the chance.

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  12. 26th November 2012 at 10:36 pm,

    MoM Rewards: amy75 has a topaz MoM rewards level amy75 said:

    Share this review on facebook

    Overall

    Overall, would I recommend this product to other people? YES

    How do I like reading from a Kindle compared to a real book? Give me the kindle any day! I have done more reading with the kindle than I have from a book in a long time.

    Would I prefer the touch version over this one? Not necessarily. You quickly get use to the different features. I think people just want the touch because they are so use to that style from their smart phones. But making the switch is no probs.

    What is easier to use/hold/read from, a book or the Amazon kindle? Definitely the Amazon Kindle. So light, no funny feeling pages, no bookmarks required, no turning over the corner of pages, no books piling up on your desk, bedside table, on shelves and you can shop for a ‘new book’ at any time of the day or night, which is great if you are wanting a new book and the shops are closed!

    Would I buy this product as a gift for someone? I definitely would. My sister is rather jealous already ;)

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  13. 26th November 2012 at 7:23 pm,

    MoM Rewards: augustine has a topaz MoM rewards level augustine said:

    Share this review on facebook

    A must have for book readers

    I have now been using the kindle for several days and I love it. I have used it while waiting for appointments and on public transport to and from work. My oldest son is learning to read and he seems to enjoy using it. Overall I am very happy with the kindle and have already recommended it to a couple of my friends who I share books with.

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  14. 25th November 2012 at 4:09 pm,

    MoM Rewards: amy75 has a topaz MoM rewards level amy75 said:

    Share this review on facebook

    The kids thought it was great!

    What did my children think? They loved it. It was something different so they were intrigued.
    I won’t be making the switch for the kids, as I think it’s important for them to have actual books, but for something different a couple of times a week the Kindle is perfect. Would be great when travelling and reading to the kids too!

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  15. 24th November 2012 at 4:34 pm,

    MoM Rewards: mrsstoney has a topaz MoM rewards level mrsstoney said:

    Share this review on facebook

    The Heaviest of Heaviest Book... NO PROBLEM NOW!!! :-)

    So i downloaded Bryce Cortenay’s Brother Fish. I have had this book in the traditional book form for a while now.. in the Hard Cover form. Whilst i love books, this one is HUGE and now with a little one the only time I really get to read is in bed of a night time. With the Kindle it is so very light and so very compact it made reading this book a breeze… I started it from the start again and stayed up for a long time last night reading in bed, pure bliss.

    It was so easy to read, no sore arms, no readjusting myself to suit the heaviness of the book, i could just lie back and click a button to turn the page.

    What an awesome product… why didn’t i get one sooner. Ohhhhh thats right I am a mum and always forget about my self… :-) Thank MOm and Dick Smith, im keeping this one all to myself.

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas


READ OTHER DICK SMITH PRODUCT REVIEWS
Amazon Kindle ... reviewed by mums. : 4.5 out of 5 based on 22 reviews.
  1. 21st November 2012 at 5:26 pm,

    MoM Rewards: mrsstoney has a topaz MoM rewards level mrsstoney said:

    Awsome Packaging

    At first glance the packaging is extremely plane which is great. It has a sticker on the packaging that states “Certified” Frustration Free Packaging. That was so true. Of course as I received this wonderful parcel i just wanted to rip it open… and i was able to easily. It has a zip style pull at the top and only one of those annoying seal stickers which was easy to get off. The packaging was very minimilist and is all totally recyclable. Fantastic. Now to get into using it… can not wait.


Like Facebook page

  • LIKE MoM on Facebook

Post your review for Amazon Kindle … reviewed by mums.

Please ensure you have first-hand experience of this product before you post a review - it's important all reviews are genuine & honest.

How would you rate this product?

Click stars below to rate.
Would you recommend to other mums?
What did your child think?
Value of Product
Quality of Product
Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

What would you say about this product?



Please note your review must be at least 50 words to earn MoM rewards points.

Would you like to include a photo?

No picture uploaded yet
Please wait to see your image preview here before hitting the submit button.

WOULD YOU LIKE TO ADD A VIDEO REVIEW?

Include a short video review sharing your experience and opinions about this product and EARN AN ADDITIONAL 150 MOM REWARD POINTS! Simply upload your video review to your own YouTube channel and then include the link to that video in the box below.

If you need a little more information on how to do this, have a look at our "How to Add a Video Review" page.

Thanks for taking the time

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Your commitment to helping us make Mouths of Mums the best product review site for mums makes all the difference. By taking the time to post your review, you are now on the list for future reviews.

Your MoM account

To register for reviews that are not open yet and for future reviews, enter your email below and we'll send you an email as soon as a review is open for application.

Want other brilliant reviews sent to you?

If you'd like to have more reviews and other news sent to you, enter your email to join MoM:


↥ Back to top

WELCOME! We are so glad you want to be part of our team - there is just a bit of information required to get you set up, please fill in the below to receive relevant review and sample invitations.

OR
 

To login with Facebook, your MoM account email must be the same as your Facebook account email.

Lost your password? Click here.
Lost your username? Click here.

If you have any trouble logging in, please contact mum@mouthsofmums.com.au