Average Ratings (from 11 ratings)
Overall star Rating
Would you recommend to other mums?
What did your child think?
Value of Product
Quality of Product
Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

The Hot Wheels Digital Camera is a great gift for young boys.

It’s compact size means it’s perfect for small hands. Plus, it comes with interchangeable covers and its own metal lunchbox tin for wear and tear.

This product is part of our Kids Technology range.  Head in store or online to check out our full range of kids gift ideas.

The Hot Wheels Digital Camera is available at Dick Smith Stores and online 24/7 at dicksmith.com.au

Recommended Retail Price $39.95.

Check out more details on the Hot Wheels Digital Camera here.

Check out the reviews from Mouths of Mums members below.


At Dick Smith we’re taking the hassle out of your Christmas shopping. With great deals on the latest technology and more ways to shop, we make it easy!

We’ve got an extended range of technology so you’re bound to find the perfect gift for everyone in your family. Get the kids sorted with something from our kids technology range or take care of mum and dad with the ultimate Christmas gift of the year – the Amazon Kindle. Check out our website for our extended range in home entertainment, Apple, digital cameras and more.

Can’t get to the shops?

Not to worry, shop online 24/7 at dicksmith.com.au where you can check out our full range, read reviews and shop.  Place your order by the 18th December and get delivery in time for Christmas (large items need to be ordered by 12th December).

Are you a last-minute shopper?

Use our Click and Collect function to reserve stock at your local store. It’s even available on your mobile, so you can reserve on the go.

For a great Christmas deal made easy, shop at Dick Smith.

  1. December 12, 2012 at 8:50 pm,

    MoM Rewards: pudsmine has a sapphire MoM rewards level pudsmine said:

    Share this review on facebook

    my son loved it

    my son loved this i am very wary of him using cameras but this is small enough he had no worries usuing it i love that he is learning too take great pics also loved the tin it came in his eyes lit up when he starting using it also his sister is very photogenic so she loved it lol ould very much reccommend

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  2. bellafit

    December 04, 2012 at 7:17 pm,

    MoM Rewards: bellafit has a topaz MoM rewards level bellafit said:

    Share this review on facebook

    Fantastic little easy to use camera for kids of all ages :)

    My son is nearly 3 and he LOVED this camera. He is always trying to get his hands on our camera so having his own has been great. He has not put it down since it arrived. His hands were a little small and it did take him a while to get the hang of using it and he loves the little carry case it comes in. He has been running around with it and being a lively 3 year old it has been dropped a couple of times and surprisingly it has not broken and still works perfectly. The only suggestion I would have is to include a wrist strap :) I would highly recommend this camera.

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  3. nic29

    November 27, 2012 at 3:42 am,

    MoM Rewards: nic29 has a topaz MoM rewards level nic29 said:

    Share this review on facebook

    A fun Xmas present every pre-teen boy will love

    Dick Smith’s Hot Wheels Digital Camera comes in a practical & cool carry case that instantly appealed to my 10yr old son.
    I was impressed by the overall look& packaging of the camera but surprised it is so lightweight. I would be concerned about it being dropped
    It was very easy to use. The instructions were clear & simple to understand.(Once I figured out that we needed to unscrew the battery compartment) My son had it all figured out in no time. We only needed to read the instructions for the ‘continuous shooting’ mode – Burst snapshot.
    The quality of the pictures is average – for a childrens camera. Superior quality photos is not essential as children don’t care about that- they just love snapping away with their ‘own’ camera and being able to make thier own short video clips.
    Overall, it’s a winner in my opinion. It looks cool and fun & it performs well.
    My son loves having his very own camera & he is still showing it off to his friends.

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  4. andrea240

    November 26, 2012 at 8:02 pm,

    MoM Rewards: andrea240 has a diamond MoM rewards level andrea240 said:

    Share this review on facebook

    Love the case and the changeable covers, lightweight!

    Loved the case it came in, great for storage and helps to prevent damage, the tin case has an easy carry handle.
    My 8 year old just loved that he could inter change the front face with various pictures of 3 cars from the Hot Wheels range.
    While the camera is very lightweight and feels a bit plasticky was pleasantly surprised with the clear screen for the snaps he took as well as after uploading them. Was a bit difficult opening it up to put the batteries in and wish it came with a charger that I could connect to an electrical socket like a phone rather than batteries.
    My son had no problem figuring out how to use it by himself and just needed a bit of help with downloading the pics and installing the software. He is very excited that he can use the camera to shoot still pictures to make into a short animated movie(for which he has the software already). Very reasonably priced too perfect for a Christmas or birthday gift!
    The play and delete button with icons on it made it simple and easy for him to understand and use.

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  5. amy_kou

    November 26, 2012 at 8:01 pm,

    MoM Rewards: amy_kou has a emerald MoM rewards level amy_kou said:

    Share this review on facebook

    Hot Wheels fans would love this!

    A fabulous gift for a hot wheels fan – or even a child that isn’t a fan! It’s their very own camera and they can change the look of it as often as they like with the interchangeable plates! Great creation!

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  6. emski

    November 26, 2012 at 5:52 pm,

    MoM Rewards: emski has a topaz MoM rewards level emski said:

    Share this review on facebook

    Suprisingly good!

    The packaging is impressive and the tin a practical addition. I must admit though, I did think it very light and plastic when I picked it up…. however, given its plasticy feel it is surprisingly efficient and had all the features I expected, and more! Still shots, video, strap for little hands and the ability to upload your pics. Includes an installation CD and interchangeable covers. This would suit a budding photographer 6+ yrs, as my younger one found it a little difficult to navigate the function buttons. I have to also admit that its lightweight and compact appeal led me to taking it on my office Christmas dinner, perfect pics and it fit nicely into my clutch bag! The kids may have to fight me for it!

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  7. glassvases16

    November 25, 2012 at 5:10 pm,

    MoM Rewards: glassvases16 has a topaz MoM rewards level glassvases16 said:

    Share this review on facebook

    A great present for a Hot Wheels Fan.

    The camera comes in a great presented carry case with interchangable faces. FIrst impressions the camera looks really cool and grabbed my young sons attention. The camera itself feels a bit ‘cheap’ I would be hesitant to give to a younger child as I fear if it is dropped on tiles or outside I don’t think it would fare so well. I feel the RRP price of $39.95 is not great value for the product, and the price Dick Smith have on line is better value. As others have said the quality of the pictures on the screen are not great, but they do download to a great quality, have not seen how they ‘print’. One issue I found was when putting the batteries in – they are held by one small screw, unlike other electronic things where you put batteries in you have a latch or something to secure the lid before putting screws in. This did not so you had 3 batteries pushing up against the lid while trying to do up the small screw, so there is a lot of pressure pressing up against the lid.

    My son is only 6yrs old and he found the buttons on the back a bit ‘stiff’ – something that obviously will become losser with use. I like how you can download the pictures with having to load the CD onto your computer.

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  8. amy_kou

    November 24, 2012 at 9:27 pm,

    MoM Rewards: amy_kou has a emerald MoM rewards level amy_kou said:

    Share this review on facebook

    A fabulous gift for children and great experience on an great valued camera!

    An amazing product that brings a smile from ear to ear in children. They are able to view the photo they have taken and use the interchangeable face plates to create funky photos for their friends! Would definately recommend to other mums as a gift for their children or others.

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  9. cazdragon

    November 23, 2012 at 6:58 pm,

    MoM Rewards: cazdragon has a topaz MoM rewards level cazdragon said:

    Share this review on facebook

    Great packaging, easy to use, the kids love it

    We love the packaging it comes in and that the battery cover is attached (therefore hard to lose). Great for taking pictures during the day in good light. Although the pictures don’t look great on the preview screen, the look much better once downloaded on the computer. And we didn’t need to install the software to be able to download the pictures onto the computer.

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  10. eleise

    November 22, 2012 at 2:52 pm,

    MoM Rewards: eleise has a topaz MoM rewards level eleise said:

    Share this review on facebook

    A great technologicak gift for a child with a fun and practical side.

    My daughter (yes a tomboy) was so excited to get the Hot Wheels camera. It is perfect for little hands and the LCD display is a great size for the kids to view. Easy to delete crappy photos to make room for new ones. I love the carry case and my daughter slept with the camera last night. The interchangable faces are nice, so they can pick their favourite colour or car. It has already beenn dropped a few times, as kids do, but no damage at all, so I would say built to hold up against toddlers. The battery case has a small screw which I love so that batteries don’t get removed.

    Kids love using cameras and this is a perfect mini sized camera for the kids to use on Christmas day!

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  11. michellemacey88

    November 21, 2012 at 10:55 am,

    MoM Rewards: michellemacey88 has a topaz MoM rewards level michellemacey88 said:

    Share this review on facebook

    The camera is great fun, Very easy to use.

    The Hot wheels digital camera is great fun! My son loved it so much and it was very simple for him to take photos. The camera also comes in a very stylish metal carry case, and the camera has 3 faceplates so you can change the look of the camera. Overall the Hot wheels digital camera is a great for young boys who love taking photos!

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas


READ OTHER DICK SMITH PRODUCT REVIEWS
Hot Wheels Digital Camera ... reviewed by mums. : 4.16 out of 5 based on 11 reviews.

No comments yet.

Like Facebook page

  • LIKE MoM on Facebook

Post your review for Hot Wheels Digital Camera … reviewed by mums.

Please ensure you have first-hand experience of this product before you post a review - it's important all reviews are genuine & honest.

How would you rate this product?

Click stars below to rate.
Would you recommend to other mums?
What did your child think?
Value of Product
Quality of Product
Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

What would you say about this product?



Would you like to include a photo?

No picture uploaded yet
Please wait to see your image preview here before hitting the submit button.

WOULD YOU LIKE TO ADD A VIDEO REVIEW?

Include a short video review sharing your experience and opinions about this product and EARN AN ADDITIONAL 150 MOM REWARD POINTS! Simply upload your video review to your own YouTube channel and then include the link to that video in the box below.

If you need a little more information on how to do this, have a look at our "How to Add a Video Review" page.

Thanks for taking the time

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Your commitment to helping us make Mouths of Mums the best product review site for mums makes all the difference. By taking the time to post your review, you are now on the list for future reviews.

Your MoM account

To register for reviews that are not open yet and for future reviews, enter your email below and we'll send you an email as soon as a review is open for application.

WELCOME! We are so glad you want to be part of our team - there is just a bit of information required to get you set up, please fill in the below to receive relevant review and sample invitations.

OR
 

To login with Facebook, your MoM account email must be the same as your Facebook account email.

Lost your password? Click here.
Lost your username? Click here.

If you have any trouble logging in, please contact mum@mouthsofmums.com.au