Average Ratings (from 13 ratings)
Overall star Rating
Would you recommend to other mums?
What did your child think?
Value of Product
Quality of Product
Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

The Silverlit Porsche 911 for iPod/iPhone/iPad is the perfect gift for older kids or ‘kids at heart’.

This beautifully crafted and fully assembled Official Licensed Porsche Remote Control Car is one of the best showcase models for any car enthusiasts. The best thing about it is that it’s controlled by your iPod / iPhone / iPad via bluetooth, so no need for an extra controller. It’s easy to use and comes with batteries, so you can set it up in no time.

This car is part of our Appcessory range – products that you can control with your smartphone or tablet.

The Silverlit Porsche 911 for iPod/iPhone/iPad is available at Dick Smith Stores and online 24/7 at dicksmith.com.au

Recommended Retail Price $89.95.  Enzo Ferrari for iPod/iPhone/iPad also available.

Check out more details on the Silverlit Porsche 911 for iPod/iPhone/iPad here.

Check out the reviews from Mouths of Mums members below.


At Dick Smith we’re taking the hassle out of your Christmas shopping. With great deals on the latest technology and more ways to shop, we make it easy!

We’ve got an extended range of technology so you’re bound to find the perfect gift for eveyone in your family. Get the kids sorted with something from our kids technology range or take care of mum and dad with the ultimate Christmas gift of the year – the Amazon Kindle. Check out our website for our extended range in home entertainment, Apple, digital cameras and more.

Can’t get to the shops?

Not to worry, shop online 24/7 at dicksmith.com.au where you can check out our full range, read reviews and shop.  Place your order by the 18th December and get delivery in time for Christmas (large items need to be ordered by 12th December).

Are you a last-minute shopper?

Use our Click and Collect function to reserve stock at your local store. It’s even available on your mobile, so you can reserve on the go.

For a great Christmas deal made easy, shop at Dick Smith.

  1. linaianna

    July 09, 2013 at 2:01 pm,

    MoM Rewards: linaianna has a diamond MoM rewards level linaianna said:

    Share this review on facebook

    I was one of the lucky one to have the opportunity to review the porshe 911 and that was a while ago and we are still having fun with it. Our visitors also love to have a go and it a good talking point. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to review it.

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  2. dreamer1495

    April 10, 2013 at 7:30 pm,

    MoM Rewards: dreamer1495 has a sapphire MoM rewards level dreamer1495 said:

    Share this review on facebook

    Family Fun

    We love love love our Porsche 911 – our whole family has so much fun with it. “Dad” become a big kid, “mum” gets the giggles trying to steer, “big brother” loves having fun with the family (he’s the best driver of us all) and “little brother” just finds it all so funny! We love it! Thank you Dick Smith!!!

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  3. tawhi

    November 27, 2012 at 10:27 pm,

    MoM Rewards: tawhi has a topaz MoM rewards level tawhi said:

    Share this review on facebook

    The Silverlit Porshe is a fabulous gift for young and old!

    I was more than impressed with the quality of the Silverlit Porsche. It arrived barely days after I found out I was lucky enough to review it. The outer packaging itself reflected that you were getting a product of quality. Before receiving the Porsche I looked it up on the Dick Smith website to make sure it would be compatible with my iPad. I was impressed with the detail Dick Smith had available and the fact it included a very informative video that gave a very clear impression of what the toy involved and even how big it was.

    When the Porsche arrived, I let my hubby take over as he was very excited with what he called a Boys Toy. He said that initial set up had very easy to follow instructions. Once you download the app the Bluetooth connects very quickly and then your off. It was very simple to figure out how to control the car and he said you literally only need two thumbs for control.

    The Silverlit Porsche is very relevant to today’s tech savvy generation. Not so tech savvy people may struggle with the whole concept of Bluetooth, apps and what not, but with a little bit of patience they will very easily be able to enjoy the product also. I think the price is worth the product as you can tell the Porsche will be a lot longer lasting than other cheaper alternatives. You could even make the Porsche part of a collection as I saw somewhere there is a Bluetooth controlled Ferrari also available. I would highly recommend this product for all ages and people types. My baby daughter was enchanted by the real working lights and engine noises and my puppies were equally obsessed!

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  4. missmissymoo

    November 27, 2012 at 9:26 pm,

    MoM Rewards: missmissymoo has a topaz MoM rewards level missmissymoo said:

    Share this review on facebook

    Fantastic fun for the little and big kids

    To be honest I didn’t hod much hope for this car, with 3 boys we have been through a few r/c cars but this car is great!
    It was so quick to set up, no having to wait for remotes to charge was great. While we waited for the app to download we popped the batteries in and set the bluetooth and we were away.
    After a couple of minutes getting used to the controls we were off. We didn’t have a big flat area for our first go, but I have to say it coped very well with all the turns and hills.
    My older boys were very excited how real it looked and that the lights and indicators worked, they have plans to take it to the mini skate ark to see how it runs.
    Hubby can’t wait to sneak it to work for all the “big” kids to have a go.

    Before trying this I would have not liked the price, but seeing how easy to set up and how well made it is I would happily pay this.

    Thank you Dick Smiths this is great.

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  5. November 27, 2012 at 9:24 pm,

    MoM Rewards: gocatgo has a topaz MoM rewards level gocatgo said:

    Share this review on facebook

    A teeny, tiny but very TOUGH Porsche!

    What a little beauty of a car! Look at far technology has come! Easy to set up, and a breeze to play with – we loved this terrific little remote control car! The lights were my favourite – the noise from the phone was slightly annoying, but easily rectified! I was a little scared about the children dropping my iPhone in the process, but we all survived unscathed! Mr. 8 would like me to tell you that it runs very well on the grass, driveway, carpet and tiles in the kitchen! One morning, I thought we had accidentally left it on overnight – I think we did, but the batteries were still fine. I would recommend this toy for the big and little kids in your life and especially for the Porsche enthusiasts out there! Great job Dick Smith!

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  6. linaianna

    November 27, 2012 at 12:40 pm,

    MoM Rewards: linaianna has a diamond MoM rewards level linaianna said:

    Share this review on facebook

    heaps of fun for all the family

    Firstly thank you for letting me have the chance to review it. It has been great fun for all the family. It was really good that the batteries were included, it meant did have to rush out to get them. it was very easy to unpack and is very responsive. The family is having heaps of fun playing with it. I think that the age would probably be better for 10+.

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  7. November 27, 2012 at 1:18 am,

    MoM Rewards: colleen-b has a diamond MoM rewards level colleen-b said:

    Share this review on facebook

    Childs play for big kids or small

    The Silverlit Porsche is a terrific, if slightly pricey toy, which is great fun and very easy to use. The controls are quite intuitive and very responsive. For older kids or grown ups, the responsiveness could be a boon, but even at the lowest sensitivity setting this car responds quickly and even at the lowest accelleration rating, it drives fast. Fortunately it seems a robust toy and was unbothered by smacking into table legs and walls. The headlights and indicators are a very nice touch for older users, and the younger ones can find a way to use the indicators to tell them if they have the controls / wheels pointed the right way. I wasn’t a big fan of the audio that comes from the controling iThing, as I felt it was quite unnecessary, and unless you have the volume down, it’s very loud. The instructions stated that there was a “horn sound’ but this emanates from the contoller, not from the car, so if you have the volume down then you won’t be able to hear this tone. You’d have to be pretty deft at the controls to use the horn anyway, at least with a large screen device like an iPad, though you might have a hand free if you were on a smaller screened iThing. In fact, while there is a lot to be said for a littler kid using the iPad, it’s heavy, but it makes the forwards and backwards tilt quite obvious to the supervising parent to give instructions. My two little boys loved it and my big boy (hubby) was a big fan too. Overall, a great toy, but it skews towards an older kid or Daddy audience.

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  8. November 25, 2012 at 8:43 pm,

    MoM Rewards: mcleoda has a topaz MoM rewards level mcleoda said:

    Share this review on facebook

    Fast, responsive, a great toy for Big Kids too!

    I was so excited to be given the opportunity to review the Porsche 911 silverlit car! When it arrived I was really impressed with the packaging and couldn’t wait to get the car out of the box.

    First of all, the appearance and detailing of the car is pretty impressive, and I loved the fact that the indicators and headlights all worked.

    It was easy enough to download the app onto the iPhone and iPad and even my husband (who is not an iPhone fan) could figure it out.

    Driving the car was a bit tricky to begin with (very ‘touchy’) but I soon learned that it is possible to fine tune the sensitivity. I was surprised by how fast it could travel, and delighted by the suspension. It’s fun driving around the house- but even more fun on a big open space where I could show off the seed!

    I crashed the car into lots of things whilst getting the hang of it, and the paint job has held up really well.

    Overall- it’s a bit tricky to get the hang of, but great fun and I’m sure it would be appreciated by older kids, and kids at heart as a present under the tree.

    Fast. Responsive- great gift for the big kids at heart

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  9. November 24, 2012 at 6:52 pm,

    MoM Rewards: jvh777 has a topaz MoM rewards level jvh777 said:

    Share this review on facebook

    Impressive! Silverlit Bluetooth R/C Porsche 911 Carrera

    First off I have never been good at steering video games or remote control anything! But I was excited to try the Porsche on my iPhone.

    The packaging is very smart and showcases the product perfectly. The instructions are simple and easy to follow, I was also happy to see it included batteries.

    The steering was a little sensitive until I found the sensitivity options (great idea) I was also impressed with the lights on the Porsche, which made it look like a real car and fun for playing with at night. My 6 month old loved watching is fly around the room. I will keep it for him when he’s a little bit older.

    I was concerned that it would use up all my battery life on my iPhone but it didn’t really use up any more that usual.

    Great product! Thank you for the chance to review the Silverlit interactive Bluetooth R/C Porsche

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  10. alison_francis

    November 23, 2012 at 11:43 am,

    MoM Rewards: alio has a diamond MoM rewards level alio said:

    Share this review on facebook

    New Next Generation Silverlit Porsche 911using iPod/iPhone/iPad is 'SO COOL'.

    Thankyou for giving me the opportunity to review this wonderful product by Dick Smith. It has been a real pleasure.
    It was realitively easy to apply the configuration settings and to adjust to suit the child’s age and area you are playing in. With practice a child would easily improve the ‘gesture and tilting’ to control this beautifully scaled realisitc Porsche model. Once the batteries are inserted, the car is highly sensitive and responsive, and we found it better using a bigger area for speed. The sound can be turned on or off with nice suspension in the turns. Features such as the lights, indicators, are reallyl ‘cool’ adding to the value of play, especially in the dark. This toy would be preferable for children 10-12yrs old, though younger ones still get a lot of fun playing despite the crashes in learning to control it. Who knows with ‘tec savy’ youngsters these days! My three boys (11,9,4.5yrs old) are thrilled and excited to play with it for hours. Provides lots of fun.

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  11. meeganharvey

    November 22, 2012 at 8:29 pm,

    MoM Rewards: Meegan has a topaz MoM rewards level Meegan said:

    Share this review on facebook

    Great first impression and heaps of fun!

    The big kids and the little kids love the Porsche!

    Before I write my review, I’d just like to take the opportunity to say thank you to the MoM team for allowing my family to review this product. Getting a really cool thing to review with my family is so exciting! So when the parcel arrived, I was extremely keen to get stuck into it, but waited until everyone was home before we unleashed the beast!

    The packaging was really impressive and sturdy. This is something that I consider when purchasing toys like this as we do have ti post quite a few gifts, and I like to hope that the packaging gets there in one piece and still looking shiny and new.

    It was really great that the batteries for the car were included. It meant that I didn’t have to go on a battery hunt while everyone was eagerly waiting to have a play with the car! Also, I’m sure I’m not the only one, but I am terrible at remembering to have enough on hand for all those electronic toys come Christmas Day!

    The instructions for Bluetooth set up was relatively simple, and if you already use either and iPhone or an iPad and are familiar with finding apps in the App Store, then it’s easy.

    The car is awesome! We all love the sound effects and the lights! In particular, we loved having a drive around kitchen island in the dark so you could really see how good the cars lights were.

    The steering with the iPhone is a little sensitive for my younger kids (2.5 and 4) but the 7.5 year old had no problems at all tearing around on the tiles. Having said that, having a few accidents along the way is just part of the fun, isn’t it?! The kids thought it hilarious when I crashed into a wall and then had to put the hazard lights on to get a tow!

    The Porsche has been a real hit for the children AND the parents in our household and we are looking at buying the helicopter or another car (so we can have races!).

    Thanks again for the opportunity to review the Silverlit Porsche 911 – it was so much fun!

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  12. linaianna

    November 22, 2012 at 3:37 pm,

    MoM Rewards: linaianna has a diamond MoM rewards level linaianna said:

    Share this review on facebook

    It was very well packaged, and looked very smart.

    Wow my first review, I have never been given the chance to review anything in my whole life so when I received the package was very excited to open it up. Anyway opened it up set it all up, even though I am not very good with with this sort of thing it took me a while to work it out. One mistake I did do though is show it to the rest of the family, now they all want it. Thank you very much for giving me this chance to review this product.

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas

  13. dreamer1495

    November 22, 2012 at 9:41 am,

    MoM Rewards: dreamer1495 has a sapphire MoM rewards level dreamer1495 said:

    Share this review on facebook

    Our first Porsche!!!

    My first review and I was so excited! Couldn’t wait to open the box & trial it – so I’ve managed to undo all the easy packaging, put batteries in an set up the iPhone …. Being a non car or RC car expert, it took me a while to get the car moving but once it did my adrenalin of excitement was obvious as I ran around the house following it (again being hopeless at any form of steering games/controls crashed into many walls & furniture) with so much fun! My youngest son was giggling so much from finding it fun & exciting too!!! I can’t wait to master the RC steering and having a crash-free drive :)
    This is going to provide so much fun for the whole family – my only problem is the boys fighting over who’s turn it is and who it belongs to! We may need to buy one for us all!
    Awesome item and loads of fun & entertainment. Thank you!

    Would you recommend to other mums?
    What did your child think?
    Value of Product
    Quality of Product
    Dick Smith is a great choice for Christmas


READ OTHER DICK SMITH PRODUCT REVIEWS
Silverlit Porsche 911 for iPod / iPhone / iPad ... reviewed by mums. : 4.58 out of 5 based on 13 reviews.
  1. tawhi

    November 19, 2012 at 4:38 pm,

    MoM Rewards: tawhi has a topaz MoM rewards level tawhi said:

    I’m so excited to also be apart of this trial… It’s my first one! Will be back with all the details on the Silverlit Porsche! I have just acquired an iPad so cannot wait to have a play!


  2. November 19, 2012 at 10:03 am,

    MoM Rewards: mcleoda has a topaz MoM rewards level mcleoda said:

    I just got the email to say that I have been given the opportunity to review the Porsche 911 Iphone controlled car… so excited I’ll be keeping a keen eye out for the postman! Stay tuned for how it rates…


WELCOME! We are so glad you want to be part of our team - there is just a bit of information required to get you set up, please fill in the below to receive relevant review and sample invitations.


MoM account settings


*
*

*

Like us on Facebook and we'll love you right back!

Your contact details



*

Street & House number

Please also indicate street type (street, road, avenue etc.)

*




Mobile or landline to contact you

A little about you...




Please upload a square picture, only jpg,gif,png types and max size 100KB







Product reviews



CONTRIBUTOR INFORMATION





Security code



Please type above text in the field

OR
 

To login with Facebook, your MoM account email must be the same as your Facebook account email.

Lost your password? Click here.
Lost your username? Click here.

If you have any trouble logging in, please contact mum@mouthsofmums.com.au