WIN 1 of 20 copies of Islands by Peggy Frew, thanks to Allen & Unwin.

A stunning literary novel from the author of the Stella Prize shortlisted Hope Farm.

There was a house on a hill in the city and it was full of us, our family, but then it began to empty. We fell out. We made a mess. We draped ourselves in blame and disappointment and lurched around, bumping into each other. Some of us wailed and shouted; some of us barely made a sound. None of us was listening, or paying attention. And in the middle of it all you, very quietly, were gone. Helen and John are too preoccupied with making a mess of their marriage to notice the quiet ways in which their daughters are suffering. Junie grows up brittle and defensive, Anna difficult and rebellious.

When fifteen-year-old Anna fails to come home one night, her mother’s not too worried; Anna’s taken off before but always returned. Helen waits three days to report her disappearance.

But this time Anna doesn’t come back …

A spellbinding novel in the tradition of Helen Garner, Charlotte Wood and Georgia Blain, Islands is a riveting and brilliant portrait of a family in crisis by the breathtakingly talented author of House of Sticks and Hope Farm.

‘Peggy Frew is an amazing writer…Elegant, tender and very wise.’ Chris Womersley, author of Bereft on Hope Farm

‘Peggy Frew’s novel, Hope Farm, tells an original tale, drawing into the body of Australian literary fiction, a world between the cracks. Peggy’s voice is contemporary, her observations sharp and sensitive. Hope Farm describes the cycle of loss and damage when there are no boundaries to protect us.’ Sofie Laguna, author of The Eye of the Sheep, 2015 Miles Franklin Literary Award winner

‘Brilliant. Peggy Frew is a superb writer, and this is a remarkably confident debut.’ Clare Bowditch on House of Sticks

Copy of BIOSTIME road tester drivers _ In Article Banner _ 712x150

This competition shared and powered by

Please note this competition is open from 1 March 2019 until 31 March 2019 and is only available to members of Mouths Of Mums. This competition is a game of skill – answer in 50 words or less. We are unable to accept entries posted via facebook. Facebook LIKE functionality is not a requirement of entry to this competition. The winners of this competition will be published on this page. Winners’ name and address will be provided to the promoter of this competition and prizes will be sent to the address you have in Your Profile. Please ensure your details are up to date so that you receive your prize.


  • The most important book for me was the holy bible it was the only book that got me through life and made me the person i am today and still is my only book I read



  • Looking for alibrandi as i am half italian and half australian, it resonated with me in so many ways



  • Casnadra clare she takes you to a world where you can believe anything is possible.



  • “Tomorrow When the War Began” by John Marsden – an absolute epic journey of teens through the adversity of war



  • Puberty blues. My parents didn’t ‘talk’ about the birds and the bees and as a confused teen I found this book eye opening.



  • Judy Blume – loved diving into these books – I felt so grown up – and was always in a rush to grow up – if only I knew then what I do now!



  • I have to admit I didn’t read as a teenager, I was more into magazines Dolly and Girlfriend. 2 Years ago at age 30 I started taking an interest in books and now really enjoy them. Better late then never right!



  • Nancy Drew, Caroline Keene, I think I thought I was a bit of a Detective.



  • Andy Griffins



  • As a teenager I loved the Tomorrow Series by John Marsden, I loved that it was based in Australia so I could relate to it in a way. I’ve still got the books today



  • Looking for Alibrandi by Melina Marchetta. It was the first book I stayed up the entire night to finish. Searching for your identity spoke volumes to me as a teenager.



  • The Harry Potter books because they showed a generation of teens the importance of friendship, being true to yourself, believing in yourself and celebrating being smart!



  • Louise Hay – You Can heal Your Life – it was a concept I had never heard of and I have followed for many years to my benefit



  • I read a ton of Stephen King as a teenager. I think I wanted to freak myself out.



  • I loved all book, anything that would capture my attention and whisk me away to another place.


Enter this competition
Your MoM account

Lost your password?

By submitting your entry, if you have previously unsubscribed from our newsletter, you will be resubscribed to receive an email to let you know about winners of this competition and regular special news and promotions. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Please enter your email and a password below to submit your competition entry and join MoM:

↥ Back to top

Thanks For Your Star Rating!

Would you like to add a written rating or just submit?

Write A Rating Just Submit
Join