WIN 1 of 20 copies of Islands by Peggy Frew, thanks to Allen & Unwin.

A stunning literary novel from the author of the Stella Prize shortlisted Hope Farm.

There was a house on a hill in the city and it was full of us, our family, but then it began to empty. We fell out. We made a mess. We draped ourselves in blame and disappointment and lurched around, bumping into each other. Some of us wailed and shouted; some of us barely made a sound. None of us was listening, or paying attention. And in the middle of it all you, very quietly, were gone. Helen and John are too preoccupied with making a mess of their marriage to notice the quiet ways in which their daughters are suffering. Junie grows up brittle and defensive, Anna difficult and rebellious.

When fifteen-year-old Anna fails to come home one night, her mother’s not too worried; Anna’s taken off before but always returned. Helen waits three days to report her disappearance.

But this time Anna doesn’t come back …

A spellbinding novel in the tradition of Helen Garner, Charlotte Wood and Georgia Blain, Islands is a riveting and brilliant portrait of a family in crisis by the breathtakingly talented author of House of Sticks and Hope Farm.

‘Peggy Frew is an amazing writer…Elegant, tender and very wise.’ Chris Womersley, author of Bereft on Hope Farm

‘Peggy Frew’s novel, Hope Farm, tells an original tale, drawing into the body of Australian literary fiction, a world between the cracks. Peggy’s voice is contemporary, her observations sharp and sensitive. Hope Farm describes the cycle of loss and damage when there are no boundaries to protect us.’ Sofie Laguna, author of The Eye of the Sheep, 2015 Miles Franklin Literary Award winner

‘Brilliant. Peggy Frew is a superb writer, and this is a remarkably confident debut.’ Clare Bowditch on House of Sticks

This competition shared and powered by

Please note this competition is open from 1 March 2019 until 31 March 2019 and is only available to members of Mouths Of Mums. This competition is a game of skill – answer in 50 words or less. We are unable to accept entries posted via facebook. Facebook LIKE functionality is not a requirement of entry to this competition. The winners of this competition will be published on this page. Winners’ name and address will be provided to the promoter of this competition and prizes will be sent to the address you have in Your Profile. Please ensure your details are up to date so that you receive your prize.

Winners for this competition

  1. A. Petersen - QLD
  2. A. Pettley - WA
  3. A. Wilson - SA
  4. F. Umali - NSW
  5. J. Burkett - QLD
  6. M. Baric - NSW
  7. J. Finos - SA
  8. T. Keen - WA
  9. T. Williams - VIC
  10. R. Meyer - QLD
  11. F. Messner - SA
  12. S. McRae - QLD
  13. M. Shinta - NSW
  14. J. Corbett - QLD
  15. S. Ashley - VIC
  16. P. Rim - VIC
  17. C. Warrick - NSW
  18. G. Matthews - TAS
  19. M. Snelgrove - VIC
  20. M. Zoka - QLD

  • I had to read Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice for high school. I loved it. Jane Austen’s heroines are smart, independent, and witty, so it’s no surprise that her books thrilled me. I still love the books and all movie versions too.



  • Wilbur Smith’s novels, they opened up a whole new and exciting world full of wildlife, diamonds and different cultures and sneaking off with dad’s copies on a Sunday afternoon was a favourite pastime of mine.



  • To kill a mockingbird by Harper Lee. I was first introduced to this book over 40 years ago as part of my English subject. I loved it and it opened up a lot of human behaviour that I have never come across before, over the years I have read it many times and always pick up something if importance in this book.



  • Pauline simones was the first author I started taking interest in reading in yr 10. She made my visual come real as I read. Her books accompanying me during my 1hr school/home trips.



  • Stephen King as my teenage years were a very dark and violent place



  • Watership Down by Richard Adams. Loved rabbits as a teenager and still a crazy rabbit lady today :-)



  • Roald Dahl – I absolutely adored his books!



  • The Outsiders by S E Hinton, As a teenager we were required to read The Outsiders and I fell in love with the story, it’s now a very popular story for teenagers!



  • R.B. Maddock wrote a whole series of adventure books – Corrigan and the Green Tiger, Corrigan and the White Cobra etc etc. They were brilliant and took me away from my world of school, heat, dust and hard work.



  • Honestly I was all about the sweet valley high books.. they keep me company when my teenager friends were not so nice to me… #teenagegirlsarenasty



  • I loved reading the Little Women BY LOUISA ALCOTT with the sequels JO’S BOYS and GOOD WIVES
    There was love, tragedy, difficult times and happy times as the sisters grew up



  • Bryce Courtney. I read all of his books in my teenage years! They exposed me to so many different relationship interactions, the complexities of human interactions and how deep emotions can run. His books also span many cultures so they are such enjoyable educational reads



  • an important book to me as a teenager was Hating Alison Ashley as i could relate to being envious of ‘perfect people’



  • Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier. I read this over and over, I love it so much. I really felt like I lived the experience that the narrator did.



  • The Babysitters Club books. My gosh I loved them. So many amazing adventures they took me on.


Enter this competition
↥ Back to top

Thanks For Your Star Rating!

Would you like to add a written rating or just submit?

Write A Rating Just Submit
Join