WIN 1 of 20 copies of Islands by Peggy Frew, thanks to Allen & Unwin.

A stunning literary novel from the author of the Stella Prize shortlisted Hope Farm.

There was a house on a hill in the city and it was full of us, our family, but then it began to empty. We fell out. We made a mess. We draped ourselves in blame and disappointment and lurched around, bumping into each other. Some of us wailed and shouted; some of us barely made a sound. None of us was listening, or paying attention. And in the middle of it all you, very quietly, were gone. Helen and John are too preoccupied with making a mess of their marriage to notice the quiet ways in which their daughters are suffering. Junie grows up brittle and defensive, Anna difficult and rebellious.

When fifteen-year-old Anna fails to come home one night, her mother’s not too worried; Anna’s taken off before but always returned. Helen waits three days to report her disappearance.

But this time Anna doesn’t come back …

A spellbinding novel in the tradition of Helen Garner, Charlotte Wood and Georgia Blain, Islands is a riveting and brilliant portrait of a family in crisis by the breathtakingly talented author of House of Sticks and Hope Farm.

‘Peggy Frew is an amazing writer…Elegant, tender and very wise.’ Chris Womersley, author of Bereft on Hope Farm

‘Peggy Frew’s novel, Hope Farm, tells an original tale, drawing into the body of Australian literary fiction, a world between the cracks. Peggy’s voice is contemporary, her observations sharp and sensitive. Hope Farm describes the cycle of loss and damage when there are no boundaries to protect us.’ Sofie Laguna, author of The Eye of the Sheep, 2015 Miles Franklin Literary Award winner

‘Brilliant. Peggy Frew is a superb writer, and this is a remarkably confident debut.’ Clare Bowditch on House of Sticks



Biostime

This competition shared and powered by

Please note this competition is open from 1 March 2019 until 31 March 2019 and is only available to members of Mouths Of Mums. This competition is a game of skill – answer in 50 words or less. We are unable to accept entries posted via facebook. Facebook LIKE functionality is not a requirement of entry to this competition. The winners of this competition will be published on this page. Winners’ name and address will be provided to the promoter of this competition and prizes will be sent to the address you have in Your Profile. Please ensure your details are up to date so that you receive your prize.


  • Stephen King who has always been able to give me chills whilst telling a great story



  • Ulysses by James Joyce i think was a ground breaking book for me



  • A Candle for Saint Antony by Eleanor Spence. An Australian story of the unlikely friendship of two teenage boys which defies stereotypes and their youth.



  • I’ve won a couple of books from MoMs and have passed them onto my 88 yo mum. She’s been loving them and passing them on to her friends. I would love to win another one for mum to share



  • I loved reading two books as teenager, To Kill a Mockingbird and a book about the power if hope Elli: Coming of Age in the Holocaust. Both books allowed me to develop empathy and compassion and understand the power of love and hope.



  • Cut by Patricia McCormack. I was a depressed teen who self harmed. This book so perfectly described what I was feeling and made me know that I wasn’t alone in my journey. This book is the reason I got help.



  • JK Rowling – Harry Potter Series,
    Hermione made it cool to be smart and brave!



  • I didn’t have a favourite author but l remember reading a lot of ‘Dolly’ books as a teenage l think it was very popular to read amongst teens at the time!



  • Danielle steele as she has more romance than i have ever had



  • Black Beauty was important to me as a teenager – it helped me escape reality when bullying was getting to me and made me feel a greater connection with animals than people at the time.



  • Paulo Coelho with his book Alchemist, I always recommend this beautiful book to anyone who has not read it yet.



  • As a teenager I was more into Rock’n Roll than books, therefore did not have an important book or author, however as times changed I have become a voracious reader,Lucinda Riley and Julian Leatherdale being a couple of my current favourites



  • The Borrowers about little people who lived under the floor boards of oid house. An elderly coule lived there and grandson came to stay. He found them and a wonderful magical story unfolded. Important to me as it was great read



  • Fancied myself as Scarlett O’Hara
    Fancied myself living at Tara
    A Southern Belle……..Australian style
    Scarlett’s antics put a smile on my dial
    “Gone with the Wind” was the book
    Make sure you take a look!!!!!



  • Lord of the rings – my all time fav


Enter this competition
Your MoM account

Lost your password?

By submitting your entry, if you have previously unsubscribed from our newsletter, you will be resubscribed to receive an email to let you know about winners of this competition and regular special news and promotions. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Please enter your email and a password below to submit your competition entry and join MoM:

↥ Back to top

Thanks For Your Star Rating!

Would you like to add a written rating or just submit?

Write A Rating Just Submit
Join