WIN 1 of 20 copies of Islands by Peggy Frew, thanks to Allen & Unwin.

A stunning literary novel from the author of the Stella Prize shortlisted Hope Farm.

There was a house on a hill in the city and it was full of us, our family, but then it began to empty. We fell out. We made a mess. We draped ourselves in blame and disappointment and lurched around, bumping into each other. Some of us wailed and shouted; some of us barely made a sound. None of us was listening, or paying attention. And in the middle of it all you, very quietly, were gone. Helen and John are too preoccupied with making a mess of their marriage to notice the quiet ways in which their daughters are suffering. Junie grows up brittle and defensive, Anna difficult and rebellious.

When fifteen-year-old Anna fails to come home one night, her mother’s not too worried; Anna’s taken off before but always returned. Helen waits three days to report her disappearance.

But this time Anna doesn’t come back …

A spellbinding novel in the tradition of Helen Garner, Charlotte Wood and Georgia Blain, Islands is a riveting and brilliant portrait of a family in crisis by the breathtakingly talented author of House of Sticks and Hope Farm.

‘Peggy Frew is an amazing writer…Elegant, tender and very wise.’ Chris Womersley, author of Bereft on Hope Farm

‘Peggy Frew’s novel, Hope Farm, tells an original tale, drawing into the body of Australian literary fiction, a world between the cracks. Peggy’s voice is contemporary, her observations sharp and sensitive. Hope Farm describes the cycle of loss and damage when there are no boundaries to protect us.’ Sofie Laguna, author of The Eye of the Sheep, 2015 Miles Franklin Literary Award winner

‘Brilliant. Peggy Frew is a superb writer, and this is a remarkably confident debut.’ Clare Bowditch on House of Sticks

This competition shared and powered by

Please note this competition is open from 1 March 2019 until 31 March 2019 and is only available to members of Mouths Of Mums. This competition is a game of skill – answer in 50 words or less. We are unable to accept entries posted via facebook. Facebook LIKE functionality is not a requirement of entry to this competition. The winners of this competition will be published on this page. Winners’ name and address will be provided to the promoter of this competition and prizes will be sent to the address you have in Your Profile. Please ensure your details are up to date so that you receive your prize.

Winners for this competition

  1. A. Petersen - QLD
  2. A. Pettley - WA
  3. A. Wilson - SA
  4. F. Umali - NSW
  5. J. Burkett - QLD
  6. M. Baric - NSW
  7. J. Finos - SA
  8. T. Keen - WA
  9. T. Williams - VIC
  10. R. Meyer - QLD
  11. F. Messner - SA
  12. S. McRae - QLD
  13. M. Shinta - NSW
  14. J. Corbett - QLD
  15. K. Ashley - VIC
  16. P. Rim - VIC
  17. C. Warrick - NSW
  18. G. Matthews - TAS
  19. M. Snelgrove - VIC
  20. M. Zoka - QLD

  • As a teenager I read Looking for Alibrandi both at home & studied it at school. Loved the book & all its values.



  • As a teenager I loved reading Looking for Alibrandi as it just helped me with my own problems fitting in at the time



  • judy blume , i loved her and all her books growing up as they were relate able



  • As a teenager, I took things for granted. I never stopped to think about how lucky I was to have my family there to look out for me. This changed when I read the GONE series by Michael Grant. It gave me a new perspective on life.



  • The writer Tanith Lee – the subject matter of her books was generally pretty far removed from my life, but back then I had dreams of being a writer, and she wrote exactly as I hoped I’d be able to one day. “The Silver Metal Lover” was particularly memorable to me.



  • I loved all books by Jodi Picoult because i feel she wrote about alot of social issues that people would shy away from. I get very emotionally attached to her characters and story lines and feel that they taught me a lot during my teenage year. I became aware of teen suicide and other important issues



  • It by stephen king was my favourite as well as harry potter,but i love a crime novel (fact or fiction) and murder mysteries.



  • Harry potter series because it was a great read to escape the world. I read it to my two daughters now.



  • Anne of Green Gables, I loved that book so much that I just had to visit her real house in Prince Edward Island in Canada when I grew up.



  • Julie Gordon Exchange Student by Estelle Grey was pivotal in instigating my travel lust and led me to becoming an exchange student at 17. While not the most meaningful book, it inspired me to follow my dreams and as a result has shaped my life, priorites and outlook.



  • I vaguely recall reading a cosmipolitan yearly annual about skin and how to look after it, what to eat, how to maintain it, this has followed me through life and thought of it as a bible.



  • Judy Blume as she wrote teenage related book that I could relate to – answered questions that I was too scared to ask



  • I “borrowed” my Mother’s Jackie Collins novels!!!! My friends and I used to read the “juicy” parts! We spent hours laughing, discussing and being amazed by all the sexy parts! It was a bit of an eye-opener for us innocent 14 year old girls!



  • I really enjoyed and felt like every word was an illustration it captured my attention and imagination and I absolutely loved reading and enjoyed the book series by Sergei lukyanenko



  • The most important book to me as a teenager was called “Incarnation” by Daniel Easterman because he had intimate knowledge of areas in Western China that are too dangerous to travel to and where I may not go. He does excellent research and writes great books.


Enter this competition
↥ Back to top

Thanks For Your Star Rating!

Would you like to add a written rating or just submit?

Write A Rating Just Submit
Join