WIN 1 of 20 copies of Islands by Peggy Frew, thanks to Allen & Unwin.

A stunning literary novel from the author of the Stella Prize shortlisted Hope Farm.

There was a house on a hill in the city and it was full of us, our family, but then it began to empty. We fell out. We made a mess. We draped ourselves in blame and disappointment and lurched around, bumping into each other. Some of us wailed and shouted; some of us barely made a sound. None of us was listening, or paying attention. And in the middle of it all you, very quietly, were gone. Helen and John are too preoccupied with making a mess of their marriage to notice the quiet ways in which their daughters are suffering. Junie grows up brittle and defensive, Anna difficult and rebellious.

When fifteen-year-old Anna fails to come home one night, her mother’s not too worried; Anna’s taken off before but always returned. Helen waits three days to report her disappearance.

But this time Anna doesn’t come back …

A spellbinding novel in the tradition of Helen Garner, Charlotte Wood and Georgia Blain, Islands is a riveting and brilliant portrait of a family in crisis by the breathtakingly talented author of House of Sticks and Hope Farm.

‘Peggy Frew is an amazing writer…Elegant, tender and very wise.’ Chris Womersley, author of Bereft on Hope Farm

‘Peggy Frew’s novel, Hope Farm, tells an original tale, drawing into the body of Australian literary fiction, a world between the cracks. Peggy’s voice is contemporary, her observations sharp and sensitive. Hope Farm describes the cycle of loss and damage when there are no boundaries to protect us.’ Sofie Laguna, author of The Eye of the Sheep, 2015 Miles Franklin Literary Award winner

‘Brilliant. Peggy Frew is a superb writer, and this is a remarkably confident debut.’ Clare Bowditch on House of Sticks



Biostime

This competition shared and powered by

Please note this competition is open from 1 March 2019 until 31 March 2019 and is only available to members of Mouths Of Mums. This competition is a game of skill – answer in 50 words or less. We are unable to accept entries posted via facebook. Facebook LIKE functionality is not a requirement of entry to this competition. The winners of this competition will be published on this page. Winners’ name and address will be provided to the promoter of this competition and prizes will be sent to the address you have in Your Profile. Please ensure your details are up to date so that you receive your prize.


  • To Kill A Mockingbird as it laid the foundations and empathy to walk in others shoes in my humanitarian work.



  • The book I remember the most and the best as a teenager was the Outsiders by S.E Hinton. In a way it was what we were all going through just a different era.



  • What Katy Did. I loved this story.



  • So many books, so many aha moments!



  • Stephen King because his writing fascinated me and his book Carrie taught me you should always treat others with respect because you don’t know who they are or what they are going through in life. Firestarter also sent me a similar message.



  • I loved Stephen King IT as I am a huge horror fan



  • Edin Blyton. Author of the magic faraway tree. Instilled a life long passion for reading



  • As a young teenager I couldn’t get enough of Anne Of Green Gables. Loved growing with Anne Shirley and all her friends. It was a story that had me hooked. If someone who had such a hard start to life could have such a positive attitude to life and achieve her dreams why couldn’t I!



  • The Little Women series by Louisa Alcott ..we felt we knew them so well as they went through trials and sadness mingled with happiness



  • SE Hintons the Outsiders. Such a strong message and friendship and the importance of being true to yourself.



  • I absolutely adored a book called Someone like you by Sarah Dessen. The main character Halleys best friend gets pregnant at 16 and it’s all about Halley helping Scarlett out while she gets her first boyfriend, learns to rebel against her strict mother and keeping her wits about her. I read it countless times & had to buy multiple copies of it as I kept losing it out and about!!



  • Judy Blume – Forever. it taught me so much.



  • Anne of Green Gables. I asked for the next book in the series every birthday and Christmas until I had them all. I could escape into these books and Anne became a friend who made me laugh and cry and taught me it’s okay to be yourself.



  • Enid byton i used to read for hours and love the character Elizabeth in the Naughest girl at school series



  • Judy blue, all her books, talked about topics that weren’t always easy to talk about with your parents


Enter this competition
Your MoM account

Lost your password?

By submitting your entry, if you have previously unsubscribed from our newsletter, you will be resubscribed to receive an email to let you know about winners of this competition and regular special news and promotions. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Please enter your email and a password below to submit your competition entry and join MoM:

↥ Back to top

Thanks For Your Star Rating!

Would you like to add a written rating or just submit?

Write A Rating Just Submit
Join