WIN 1 of 20 copies of Islands by Peggy Frew, thanks to Allen & Unwin.

A stunning literary novel from the author of the Stella Prize shortlisted Hope Farm.

There was a house on a hill in the city and it was full of us, our family, but then it began to empty. We fell out. We made a mess. We draped ourselves in blame and disappointment and lurched around, bumping into each other. Some of us wailed and shouted; some of us barely made a sound. None of us was listening, or paying attention. And in the middle of it all you, very quietly, were gone. Helen and John are too preoccupied with making a mess of their marriage to notice the quiet ways in which their daughters are suffering. Junie grows up brittle and defensive, Anna difficult and rebellious.

When fifteen-year-old Anna fails to come home one night, her mother’s not too worried; Anna’s taken off before but always returned. Helen waits three days to report her disappearance.

But this time Anna doesn’t come back …

A spellbinding novel in the tradition of Helen Garner, Charlotte Wood and Georgia Blain, Islands is a riveting and brilliant portrait of a family in crisis by the breathtakingly talented author of House of Sticks and Hope Farm.

‘Peggy Frew is an amazing writer…Elegant, tender and very wise.’ Chris Womersley, author of Bereft on Hope Farm

‘Peggy Frew’s novel, Hope Farm, tells an original tale, drawing into the body of Australian literary fiction, a world between the cracks. Peggy’s voice is contemporary, her observations sharp and sensitive. Hope Farm describes the cycle of loss and damage when there are no boundaries to protect us.’ Sofie Laguna, author of The Eye of the Sheep, 2015 Miles Franklin Literary Award winner

‘Brilliant. Peggy Frew is a superb writer, and this is a remarkably confident debut.’ Clare Bowditch on House of Sticks

This competition shared and powered by

Please note this competition is open from 1 March 2019 until 31 March 2019 and is only available to members of Mouths Of Mums. This competition is a game of skill – answer in 50 words or less. We are unable to accept entries posted via facebook. Facebook LIKE functionality is not a requirement of entry to this competition. The winners of this competition will be published on this page. Winners’ name and address will be provided to the promoter of this competition and prizes will be sent to the address you have in Your Profile. Please ensure your details are up to date so that you receive your prize.

Winners for this competition

  1. A. Petersen - QLD
  2. A. Pettley - WA
  3. A. Wilson - SA
  4. F. Umali - NSW
  5. J. Burkett - QLD
  6. M. Baric - NSW
  7. J. Finos - SA
  8. T. Keen - WA
  9. T. Williams - VIC
  10. R. Meyer - QLD
  11. F. Messner - SA
  12. S. McRae - QLD
  13. M. Shinta - NSW
  14. J. Corbett - QLD
  15. K. Ashley - VIC
  16. P. Rim - VIC
  17. C. Warrick - NSW
  18. G. Matthews - TAS
  19. M. Snelgrove - VIC
  20. M. Zoka - QLD

  • A child called it- David Pelzer
    His book sent chills up my spine and made me appreciate my life and parents so much for all they did for me



  • Sydney Sheldon.. Her books gave me an entire new world and outlook which is completely different from the one I lived



  • Stephen King, still is. I have a passion for reading and have read books from many authors which were great but his were always like an addiction. I couldn’t wait to read or even just buy a book again was a thrill then read it when i had time.



  • the author of the Baby Sitters Club novels, o how i would love borrowing them books from the school libary each week



  • BFH by Roald Dahl



  • The 5 love languages for singles. It helped me so much with understanding all the relationships in my life not just romantic ones but other relationships with family and friends as well.



  • I can’t pick between Judy Bloom (Are you there god, its me Margaret) and Melina Marchetta (Looking for Alibrandi)



  • j t kagawa. she always wrote books that were so relatable that its made life easier to handle as a kid.



  • To Kill A Mocking Bird what an eye opener! It was nice and superficial on the outside but there were the underlying issues of racism and discrimination. The children were innocent and not fully aware of the problems within the town and the nature of their father; Atticus Finch’s job.



  • SE Hintons the Outsiders. Loved this book and the story of friendship and staying true to yourself and your beliefs



  • I loved Day of the Triffids, it sent my imagination wild. It was my first sci-fi book and i really loved it.



  • As a teenager it was loooking for alabrandi.



  • The most important book for me was the holy bible it was the only book that got me through life and made me the person i am today and still is my only book I read



  • Looking for alibrandi as i am half italian and half australian, it resonated with me in so many ways



  • Casnadra clare she takes you to a world where you can believe anything is possible.


Enter this competition
↥ Back to top

Thanks For Your Star Rating!

Would you like to add a written rating or just submit?

Write A Rating Just Submit
Join