Do you want to have photos on Facebook but make sure only selected people can view them? Get the how to here!

Facebook is a great way to stay in touch with friends and family, especially if they are interstate or overseas. Many of our clients enjoy Facebook, as they can see photos of their children and grandchildren. However, many people raise the concern of privacy.

How do you share photos with certain friends or family members without all your Facebook friends viewing it?

I just got back from a lovely trip to Mauritius. About 30 of us travelled over there to celebrate a friend’s wedding. After the wedding, we enjoyed a day on a Catamaran. Tough life, I know!

As you can imagine, we all had our smartphones, and lots of pictures and selfies were taken on the trip.

We needed a way to share our photos with each other, but keep them private amongst those who were on the trip.

The Solution? 

A private album on Facebook, where only those invited to view that photo album can add photos and view photos.

 

Mont Choisy Beach at sunset! #Love

Welcome to private albums on Facebook! 

  1. Log into your Facebook account, and visit your personal profile page.
  2. Click on Photos.
  3. Click on +Create Album.
  4. Facebook will prompt you to choose a photo from your device to add to this album, so choose a photo or multiple photos to add.
  5. Name your Album, and you can add a description for the album.
  6. Click on Make Shared Album, and a field will appear. Type the names of the people that you would like to share this album with.
  7. A privacy setting will appear next to the blue Post button, choose Contributors Only.

Now you can try creating private albums, and invite certain people to share that album with!

Have you used private albums before? Please share in the comments below.

Image courtesy of Shutterstock.com


  • This is great! I never knew you could have private photo albums. An easy way to share all the photos from a Family event without all your Facebook friends being able to view them.


    • Isn’t it! It was so helpful for this Mauritius trip!

    Reply


  • Very easy now l have read how it’s done,thanks!

    Reply


  • That’s a lot of messing around if you have oodles of friends. What I would like to know how to do is………when I post a photo, people on my friends list can share it, which means their friends can see it. Seeing it I don’t mind too much, but some would save the photo and have it forever. I don’t like that :(

    Reply


  • Facebook allows you to customise photos and other info and always use them

    Reply


  • That’s something I never knew. Thank you.

    Reply

Post a comment
Like Facebook page

LIKE MoM on Facebook

Please enter your comment below
Would you like to include a photo?

No picture uploaded yet
Please wait to see your image preview here before hitting the submit button.

Your MoM account

Lost your password?

Enter your email and a password below to post your comment and join MoM:

↥ Back to top

Thanks For Your Star Rating!

Would you like to add a written rating or just submit?

Write A Rating Just Submit
Join