Facebook has announced that they’re introducing an ‘unsend’ feature, which will allow users to quickly delete a message they regret.

The new feature was revealed in update 192.0 for iOS on Wednesday.

“Coming soon: Remove a message from a chat thread after it’s been sent,” the update reads.

“If you accidentally send the wrong photo, incorrect information, or message the wrong thread, you can easily correct it by removing the message within 10 minutes of sending it.”

The feature is believed to be similar to that of Instagram direct message, which lets people tap and hold on the message they wish to remove, and then select Unsend.

messenger

Phew! That will be a big relief.

Share your comments below

Tried This? RATE IT Now…

Morning Fresh Dishwashing Liquid Original Super Strength
Morning Fresh Dishwashing Liquid Original Super Strength

Submitting your rating…


  • It shows the other person that you deleted a message. And it’s too bad if they’ve already seen it, 10 minutes or not.

    Reply


  • Good and potentially bad.

    Reply


  • I can see that this would help some people.

    Reply


  • That only works if the person receiving it doesn’t read it right away.

    Reply


  • Oh this is a good feature but I worry it will be used for bullying and hiding the evidence

    Reply


  • I’ve heard about rude disgrading comments being placed on facebook and being told to take them down. Some have been as bad as child abuse if they are as they are meant to be. How many parents would put it on facebook that their bi*** is late coming out of school. Another person put on photo of one of the children fell head first into the washing machine trying to get clothes out and laughing about it. The child isn’t as tall as the washing machine. It has a full size agitator and clothes can get tangled and jammed under it. He uses a ladder to put some of the washing on Hills Clothes line.

    Reply


  • Sounds like another way for kids to be bullied and then erase the evidence of it.

    Reply


  • Great! Thumbs up for this change :)

    Reply


  • This won’t worry me as I am not on facebook.

    Reply


  • yay that will be a really handy feature to have but im sure it will have some limitations

    Reply


  • i have accidentally pressed send to the wrong person a few times lol oops!

    Reply


  • Finally! Usually I just want to go back and edit, I always find the autocorrect issues AFTER I hit send!

    Reply


  • I thought the message was sent instantly? What if they read it before the 10 minutes?

    Reply


  • Im sure lots of drunk FB chat messages will be deleted!


    • I think you might be right! Also; ones where people have been cranky!

    Reply


  • I am always relatively careful about messages but no doubt this feature will be welcomed by many.

    Reply

Post a comment
Like Facebook page

LIKE MoM on Facebook

Please enter your comment below
Would you like to include a photo?

No picture uploaded yet
Please wait to see your image preview here before hitting the submit button.

Your MoM account

Lost your password?

Enter your email and a password below to post your comment and join MoM:

↥ Back to top

Thanks For Your Star Rating!

Would you like to add a written rating or just submit?

Write A Rating Just Submit
Join